Alt-Press Watch – Showcases unique, independent voices from some of our nation’s most respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals.
America’s Obituaries and Death Notices Records from more than 3900 newspapers nationwide, making them available through one fully searchable database. This comprehensive resource features nearly 63 million listings—this is about 90% of all recent obituaries and death notices published in the United States.
Ancestry Library Edition – Powered by Ancestry.com, delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more. (Library Only)
Archives Unlimited – Includes Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia, also included are County and Regional Histories & Atlases for OH, PA, & IN.
Birds of North America – Instant access to in-depth information on more than 700 bird species.
Business Source Premier – Full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and much more.
Career & Technical Education – The database includes nearly 500 titles, with more than 425 available in full text.
Chicago Defender – This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Catalogs – Middle and Junior High School Library Catalog – Collection development and maintenance, and general reference for grades three to five.
Catalogs – Public Library Catalog – Fiction – Search over 13,000 book titles in one easy-to-use database.
Catalogs – Public Library Catalog – Nonfiction – Search over 13,000 book titles in one easy-to-use database.
Catalogs – Senior High School Library Catalog – This selective list of books recommended for young people in grades 9 through 12 is invaluable for collection development and maintenance.
Catalogs – Children’s Core Collection – For collection development, readers’ advisory, and curriculum support. Includes fiction and nonfiction works, recommended for readers in preschool through sixth grade.
CINAHL® with Full Text – CINAHL® with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with coverage dating as far back as 1937.
Cincinnati Newspaper Index – An Index to Local News compiled by The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
Cincinnati Enquirer – Historical 1841-2009 – Searchable full-text articles and obituaries from the Enquirer 1841-2009.
Consumer Reports – Find information and ratings on products and services.
Creativebug Learn arts and crafts skills with project DIY videos.
CultureGrams Kids Edition – This collection of 68 country reports teaches upper elementary-aged children more about the world around them. Each report includes up-to-date, engaging cultural information, complete with images, historical timeline, fun facts, and sections on history, population, “life as a kid”, and more.
CultureGrams States Edition – These reports help upper elementary-aged students understand the history of each U.S. State. Reports include maps, flags, symbols, time lines, history, economy, geography, population and more.
CultureGrams World Edition – Cultural reports for 187 countries and territories each include 25 categories such as land and climate, history, personal appearance, greetings, gestures, family, diet, holidays, economy, education, health, and events and trends.
Digital Public Library of America – Search library and museum collections from across the country.
DMV Driving Practice Tests – Free KY permit practice tests and KY Driver’s Handbook.
EBSCO Academic Search Premier – The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, provides full text articles for nearly 4,700 publications.
Explora – Public Library – EBSCO – Provides full text articles for over 2,000 periodicals. (Formerly Masterfile Premier)
Explora – Primary Schools – EBSCO – Full text articles for more than 60 popular, magazines for elementary school research. (Formerly Primary Search)
Explora – Secondary Schools – EBSCO – provides students in secondary schools with the most appropriate research tools for easily obtaining the information that they seek from their EBSCO databases. (Formerly Student Research Center)
Encyclopedia Britannica Library – Easy to use, and easy to find trusted information.
Faces & Places – A collection of local photographs.
FamilySearch – The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints provides an online search of the millions of names in its International Genealogical Index.
FindMyPast – Genealogy information from Great Britain & Ireland.
Fold3 – Fold3 features millions of documents, most never before available on the Internet spanning a time period time period from the early colonial settlements through the late 1900s.
Foundation Directory Online Professional – The Foundation Directory Online allows grantseekers to quickly research prospective funders by providing access to detailed information on grantmakers, grants, and grant recipients, and searchable 990s.
(Available at the Erlanger Branch only)
Foundation Grants to Individuals – This unique online service is the only online funding research tool that focuses on foundations that provide financial support for individual grantseekers.
(Available at the Erlanger Branch only)
Gale Courses – Access to over 300 online instructor led courses for lifelong learning.
geNKY – Northern Kentucky Genealogy Database – Local church, medical and business records collected by the Library.
Greater Cincinnati Memory Project – Search images from the Greater Cincinnati area.
GreenFILE – Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
Health Source Consumer Edition – collection of consumer health information including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
HelpNow Brainfuse – On demand, anytime, anywhere eLearning. View how easy, intuitive and engaging Brainfuse HelpNow eLearning is for all ages and levels.
HeritageQuest Online – This online database is an essential collection of unique material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s.
Hoopla – Always available ebooks, audiobooks, videos and music, free with your library card.
Kenton County PVA – Search Kenton County’s public documents.
KYVL – Kentucky Virtual Library – Kentucky Virtual Library access to Library catalogs and databases. (Contact the Library for username and password 962-4000)
Learning Express E-books – Career guides, study aides, and test-prepration books to help people prepare for tests.
LearningExpress Online Testing – Practice tests for SAT, GED, Civil Service Exams, Law Enforcement, Real Estate, US Citizenship and more. Enter your library card number as your username.
Legal Forms – A wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas.
Louisville Courier Journal Historical 1830-1922 Searchable full-text articles and obituaries from the 1830-1922
Mango Languages – Mango is an online language-learning system that teaches actual conversation skills for 12 different languages.
Medline Plus – General information on medical terms, drug information and health topics.
Morningstar Investment Research Center– Analysis on stocks, mutual funds and exchange traded funds (ETFs).
MyHeritage Library Edition Access billions of historical documents, millions of historical photos and other resources in thousands of databases that span the past five centuries.
Newspaper Archive Access to papers in Kentucky and Ohio.
Northern Kentucky Newspaper Index – Index of Kentucky newspapers.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center – Provides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues.
Overdrive eBooks & Audio – Download ebooks & audio to your computer or mobile device.
PebbleGo – Kindergarten+ students will love the easy access to animals, science, biographies and social studies information. All titles and articles have a read aloud feature.
PebbleGoNext – States & American Indian History – Helps students in Grades 3-5 learn about key concepts related to States and American Indians.
Post – Cincinnati/Kentucky – America’s Newspapers features the full-text content of over 600 U.S. newspapers, with more than 290 titles available exclusively from NewsBank, each the complete electronic edition of record.
ReferenceUSA – The leading provider in business and consumer research. Offering a full-service platform, it helps users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds and locate people.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps – Historical fire insurance maps.
ScholasticGo – Scholastic GO! contains more than 115,000 articles covering every core-curriculum subject. The articles and their illustrations are derived from the content of seven Scholastic encyclopedia databases: Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, America the Beautiful, Lands and Peoples, Amazing Animals of the World, and The New Book of Popular Science.
Small Business Resource Center – Access a collection of state-specific resources supported with demographic data and other local information.
Something About The Author Online – This critically acclaimed series spotlights more than 12,000 individuals in entries that typically cover personal life, career, writings, adaptations, and additional sources.
Teachables – online treasure trove of ready-to-go lessons and activities for PreK-6 grades, subjects, and skill levels.
TrueFlix – True Books Online – True Books Online – Watch, Read & Explore
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) Search library catalogs around the world.